Cancer Brings Out Prayerfulness

So many persons of all ages know and love the song: “Jesus Loves Me This I know”. In our childhood, five brothers in our home each sang this song with our mother at sleep-prayer time. The prayer is powerfully affirming and reassuring.

Now as one of our brothers deals with cancer the song comes to mind for our prayer.

I took some liberty and added some new lyrics to the familiar tune as we pray for God’s blessings in the presence of the fight against cancer and the journey ahead. I am glad to share it with the readers of the Stauros BLOG:

JESUS LOVES ME-THIS IS KNOW
 
Adaptation version by Deacon Don Grossnickle
Dedicated to my brother: Roger K. Grossnickle
 
 “Jesus loves me this I know.
For the Bible tells me so.
Little ones to Him belong,
we are weak but He is strong…..
Yes, Jesus loves me….
The Bible tells me so.”
 
 
…………………..New Updated Version
 
I.
Jesus loves me this I know,
through the cancer, I must go.
 
Little ones to Him belong
We are weak, but he is strong
 
Yes, Jesus loves me, Yes, Jesus loves me
Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.
 
II.
Jesus loves me this I know
Rough days of faith-testing, I must go
 
Days of struggle, I must be strong
Jesus, helps me all day, and all night, long
 
Yes, Jesus loves me, Yes, Jesus loves me
Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.
 
III.
Jesus loves me this I know
Some day to heaven, I eventually seek to go
 
I get weak, but my Spirit growing strong
From Him, I came, and always belong.
 
Yes, Jesus loves me, Yes, Jesus loves me
Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.
 
IV.
 
Jesus loves me this I know
Seeing family love me, tells me so
 
I am weak and they keep me strong
We will always be one, all our live’s long
 
Yes, Jesus loves me, Yes, Jesus loves me
Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.
 
V.
Jesus loves me this I know
No tears can change that, If I must go
 
Little ones to Him belong
I get ready, and keep being strong
 
Yes, Jesus loves me, Yes, Jesus loves me
Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.
 
VI.
Jesus loves me this I know
Every day is thanksgiving, loving life so
 
Little gifts I truly, truly love
Come in abundance, from above
 
Yes, Jesus loves me, Yes, Jesus loves me
Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.
 
VII.
Jesus loves me this I know
Filled with joy, I tell you so
 
Little ones to Him belong
Hope springs eternal and ends this song.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Yes, Jesus loves me, Yes, Jesus loves me
Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.

 

Leave a Reply

