Suffering and Joy: Solving Puzzles of Life

rubiks-cube

 

Guest BLOG-By: “The Cello Bard”–Marie Smith

Been playing with my Rubik’s Cube lately. Yeah, that old puzzle box toy from the 1980’s that drove so many people crazy. Twist it around and around just a few times and none of the colors line up anymore. Solving it seems impossible. Sometimes my life feels like a mixed up Rubik’s Cube. Like no matter how I try I can’t get things to line up anymore. When so many different things in my life get messed up, I feel overwhelmed by it all. I look at the pile of unpaid bills, listen to my phone ringing all day long, and I wonder if I’ll ever get out from under all of this. But, working on solving my Rubik’s Cube has taught me a few things.

If I’m gonna solve my Rubik’s Cube the first thing I need to do is figure out which way is up. I usually solve it blue side up, so I look for side with the blue square in the center and tilt the cube so the blue square is on top. When my life is out of sorts, I know I need to take a few deep breaths and remember to look up. Doesn’t matter how messed up things are, I can always look up and center myself.

Interestingly enough, the steps to solving a Rubik’s Cube, and the steps to calming down when all is going wrong, are the same.  To solve a Rubik’s Cube, the next thing I do is build a cross. Link up the red and blue, orange and blue, yellow and blue, and white and blue edge pieces and form a blue cross on the top of my cube. One the cross is on top, the rest of the pieces fall into place.

When I remember to look at the cross, I remember Jesus taught us not to worry.

            Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink;
            or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food,
            and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds in the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more  valuable than they? 
            Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

                                    Matthew 6:25-27

Somehow all I have to do is remember that, and then trust that all the pieces in my life  will somehow fall into place. I don’t have to live in fear and worry.  It doesn’t add to my life.  One step at a time things will get better. I’m learning to celebrate every step in the right direction. Living in celebration feels a lot better than living in fear.

Visit Marie’s Web site: http://maries-cello.com

mairecello

Leave a Reply

